S.S. Iyengar (pictured at center), Distinguished Ryder Professor and director of FIU’s School of Computing and Information Sciences, who is widely recognized as one of the principal pioneer in sensor networks and image processing, has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.


Distinguished Ryder Professor S.S. Iyengar has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. The director of FIU’s School of Computing and Information Sciences is widely recognized as one of the principal pioneers in sensor networks and image processing.

U.S. Deputy Commissioner for Patent Operations Andrew Faile inducted the 2013 Fellows March 6-7 at the NAI’s 3rd annual conference, held for the first time at the headquarters of the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction. Academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation. Collectively, the new Fellows hold more than 5,600 U.S. patents.

Approximately 250 inventors and academic leaders attended the conference, which featured presentations and panels by more than 35 distinguished scientists and innovators and included a keynote address by Stephen Quake of Stanford University, winner of the Lemelson-MIT Prize, member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), National Academy of Engineering (NAE), Institute of Medicine (IOM), and newly inducted Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

Iyengar has published more than 500 research papers and has authored/co-authored/edited 18 books. He is also a member of the European Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), a Fellow of the Society of Design and Process Program (SPDS), and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (FIE). He has been awarded a Distinguished Alumnus Award of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, and was awarded the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award. He has received a Lifetime Achievement Award conferred by the International Society of Manufacturing (ISAM) in recognition of his career and lifelong contributions to the fields of Engineering and Computer Science at the Indian Institute of Technology (BHU).

Iyengar and Nulogix, Inc. were also awarded in the 2012 Innovation 2 Industry (i2i) Florida competition. His research has been funded by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, U.S. Army Research Office, and many other state agencies. His papers have been cited more than 6,000 times and he has been on the editorial board of many IEEE journals. His research work has been used by Raytheon, BBN Technology Corporation, etc. The impact of his work has been very significant as a powerful cost saver for designing fusion algorithms.

At the induction ceremony, Faile and Paul R. Sanberg, president of the NAI, presented the 2013 class of Fellows with trophies, certificates and rosette pins honoring their accomplishments as inventors. More than 80 of the 143 top scientists and innovation leaders elected as 2013 Fellows were in attendance. The names and institutions of all NAI Fellows are on permanent display at the USPTO.

With the induction of the 2013 class, there are now 244 NAI Fellows worldwide, representing 121 universities and non-profit research institutes. Included in the 2013 class are 26 presidents and senior leadership of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 69 members of the National Academies, five inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, six recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation, two recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Science, nine Nobel Laureates, five Lemelson-MIT prize recipients and 23 AAAS Fellows, among other awards and distinctions.

Iyengar is the second FIU professor in two years to be named an NAI Fellow. Sakhrat Khizroev, a professor in FIU’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a world-renowned inventor in the area of nanotechnology, was one of 98 charter fellows named by the NAI last year.